tandoori cauliflower

IMG_4344

Where do I begin…. I came home in great spirits. Our puppy was so sweet and happy to see me when I walked in. It was freezing outside but, the sun was bright and pouring in through the windows.

IMG_4321

I quickly got the rest of my work finished so I could start on my dinner post. I’ve been working like crazy lately. We had some awful virus on our work computer which wiped out a million files (maybe more like 100-150). I’ve spent days already trying to copy info from our hard copies….ugh, long stupid story. I have also started a second job. I have been doing some work on my company’s social media sites and trying to keep up, with the little time I have to do it. Oh, and I’m registering for my next class at school tonight…I feel the dark cloud of overwhelming stress coming.

I had started marinating the cauliflower for dinner last night. Just before bed….probably around 10-10:30??. I pulled it out of the fridge this evening around 5:45. It looked awesome! Kinda like a brain! Chris made it home just in time to see the brain get put into the oven (he was impressed, and grossed out). While it roasted we prepared the rest of dinner. We cooked some quinoa and our favorite naan bread (It’s the BEST! “Shana – Chili & Coriander” you can find it in the freezer section in some grocery stores. When we see it we stock pile it! It’s pretty spicy but all the other ones are amazing too.). I made some yogurt/mint sauce and we were set………….Set for the MOST BOOOOOORING flavorless dinner EVER!!!! Thank god for the naan bread without it… think, I would  rather have starved. Oh, did I mention the sunset (nice and early) so my pictures of dinner kinda suck.

IMG_4336

IMG_4334

I must have done this wrong. I swear I followed all the directions and it BARELY had any flavor. The dinner looked amazing! But, tasted like plain ol’cauliflower on some plain ol’boring quinoa.  *sigh

Ok. So here is the recipe….

INGREDIENTS:

1 large head cauliflower, washed

4 cloves garlic
1 tbsp. minced ginger
3 tbsp. tandoori spice
juice of 1 lemon
1 tsp. sea salt
½ cup yogurt

DIRECTIONS:
Mix smashed garlic, ginger and  the tandoori spice, lemon and salt. Then the yogurt.

Place the whole of cauliflower (remove leaves and in a large bowl and spread the marinade all over, making sure to coat the bottom as well. Place in the fridge to marinate for 6 – 12 hours.

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Place cauliflower on a lined baking sheet and roast until tender (approx 45 min….longer depending on the size of the cauliflower).

Garnish with  lots of lemon juice and a generous drizzle of high-quality olive oil, sprinkle with chopped parsley.

IMG_4346

Alright…now, off to register for school and bum around in my pajamas. DAY OFFICIALLY OVER.

IMG_4324

10 comments

  1. morgarito

    Mmm! Been wanting to try this, I’m sort of obsessed with My New Roots and she has a version of this. Funny to see this tonight though because I’m about to make mashed cauliflower :p

Leave a Reply

