stuffed acorn

IMG_3328

Chris and I both had a long day (Chris was in long meetings and I had a stupid work computer full of nasty viruses) . I knew he was going to be home a little later then me and I thought I would try to make something a little more special for him (then defrosted soup, which is usually what we grab after a long day). I had just seen a great recipe in a magazine and couldn’t wait to try it. Missing a few things and substituting quite a bit.  It took a really long time…much longer then I thought. However, I did get it all together just in time! With the table set and our last candle lit, Chris walked in with a huge grin”Dinner smells amazing!”.

I grinned, very proud of all my effort.

IMG_3210

I am so happy it turned out as amazing as it did! We may not have had a great day…But, we had an awesome evening!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Acorn Squash (cut lengthwise, seeds removed)
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 small onion (chopped)
  • 1 apple
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 3/4 shredded Gruyere cheese (or as much as you like)
  • 1/4 cup of chopped raw walnuts
  • 1/4 cup of organic dried cranberries
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh sage
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 425 (220c). Rub squash flesh with 1tbsp of coconut oil and place flesh side down on a paper lined baking sheet. Bake for 30min (or until flesh is easily pierced with a fork)

Meanwhile, get your quinoa cooking (I used our rice cooker…I find its easier for me, I hate having the stove full of pots and pans. I get easily distracted and over whelmed…and by “full” I mean more then 1)

Heat some coconut oil  in a pan and slowly caramelize the chopped onion (this takes forever!!)

In a large bowl add cooked quinoa and caramelized onion. Using the same pan (no need to mess up more dishes) add chopped apple and garlic stir frequently, until the garlic is cooked (not browned!). Add apple and garlic to bowl mix together and add chopped nuts and cranberries. I then added 1/2 the cheese to filling mixture.

Brush the flesh of the cooked squash with maple syrup then stuff the filling into cooked squash. Sprinkle with remaining cheese and place under broiler until cheese has melted and slightly browned.

Serve, enjoy!

IMG_3337

IMG_3348

IMG_3345

Chris ended up sneaking out not long after dinner and returned with surprise MILKSHAKES! YAY!! XO

PS Sorry for the photo’s..wasn’t really planning a post tonight.

4 comments

  1. tessa gonvelous

    This actually makes me want to be a better wife. When horrible tiring days come to an end the last thing I think to do is brighten the day of my partner. It feels good to make a loved one smile. Probably the best cure to a miserable day.
    Thank you for this.

    The recipe sounds amazing! Would be perfect to double up for a party! Do you think you can make the filling the night before?

    • willdothedishes.com

      Thank you :) It did make my day 1000X better!
      The recipe would be GREAT for a dinner party!!! I don’t see any reason why you can’t make the filling ahead of time…but, I’m no expert.

  2. Danielle Marie

    I can’t wait to try this. It sounds so amazing. Squash is a new territory for me, but I love cooking with quinoa.

Leave a Reply

