beer battered fish

IMG_1421

We just came home from a chilly weekend at the cottage. We had such a great time! We spent hours wandering around the island, fishing and eating. Chris caught so many fish and one really big one! My dad showed us how to “clean” the fish, so we could cook it for my blog….There is NOTHING clean about this whole thing. I also don’t think I will ever be able to do it myself…and to be honest, I don’t see Chris gutting anything anytime soon. I took a million photo’s of the process (no one thought I should post them because they were too gross…so I just ended up posting a couple that weren’t that bad).  Every time we go to the cottage we all eat and drink way too much and this time, my mom, Chris and I just may have set a record for food consumption. We decided to beer batter and fry Chris’s fish for dinner on Saturday night. Here is a really easy recipe (but, you can also get packages of the flour mixture that taste the same, some people even use the “add water” pancake mix and instead of water add beer).

IMG_1032

IMG_1049

IMG_1024

IMG_0994

IMG_1310

IMG_1481

IMG_1506

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup corn starch
  • 1 scant tsp. of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 300ml beer
  •  fresh fish fillets
  • oil for frying

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Pour cold beer in bowl.
  2. Add the flour and corn starch with the salt and baking powder in another bowl and add to beer in increments, mix with a whisk
  3. Scrape the sides of the bowl and stir.
  4. Keep adding flour mixture and whisking until you have the consistency of slightly thinned pancake batter.
  5. Place in the fridge for an hour.
  6. Heat 1/2 inch of oil in pan
  7. Dip fish in batter to evenly coat both sides, gently place in hot oil
  8. Cook 2 minutes a side
  9. Drain excess oil on paper towel or rack

IMG_0864

IMG_0938

IMG_0875

IMG_1081

IMG_1110

IMG_1196

IMG_1274

IMG_1268

IMG_1266

IMG_1256

IMG_1259

IMG_1302

IMG_1326

IMG_1378

IMG_1421

IMG_1038

12 comments

    • Aries

      Have you ever thought about wiitrng an ebook or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  1. Irina @ wandercrush

    Oh, this is such a beautiful post. Makes me itch for my sleeping bag and a fishing line! There are few things in life more satisfying than cooking a freshly caught fish :)

  2. james

    This should be an ad for fishing rods or fishing line. Great post. Fish’n chips for dinner tonight. *great catch by the way

  3. SHARON DELROY

    He makes yorkshire pudding and guts fish he didn’t catch. super dad!
    Your blog is amazing.

  4. Sam

    I love beer batter… So good. I have made both beer-battered fish and shrimp, as well as goat-cheese-stuffed zucchini flowers which were amazing. Your photos are gorgeous. I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

