sunday ribs

IMG_0488

So we’ve been in the early planning stages for our next video (so super fun). I’ve been talking to one of my oldest friends about helping/teaching me to make something and be in our next little project. He’s definitely on board (yay!!). But, when we are all available to get together and spend the day cooking is becoming quite a challenge . We’ve discussed some different recipes but haven’t made a decision yet.  A week or so ago he mentioned ribs…and that’s all it took for me to start craving ribs. Two of my greatest friends annnd my boyfriend all make the most incredible ribs (seriously incredible)! All of them completely different! All of them AMAZING. I’m a huge rib fan, I’ve tried tons of ribs from all different spots around Toronto. The best ones I have eaten are theirs. These ones are from Chris’s recipe collection and has become a summertime staple for us. We’ve made them for just us and for wonderful big group gatherings, they are so great! Personally…I can’t make ribs. I’m not really “there” yet. I don’t like the raw meat thing, like touching it, ….oh! and I never ever would ever remove the rib stuff. Although I have just recently found out you can ask the butcher to do this, which makes me far more comfortable. So when I’m finally feel ready to do the entire rib thing on my own, I can at least get help with the grossest part.  I now know how to make them, and I can be very helpful mixing the spices for the rub and will even brush on the BBQ sauce if asked.

I’m so happy summer is around the corner. My favorite thing ever is sitting with Chris outside after work with a beer, a glass of wine or coffee, chatting about our day with the BBQ smoking in the background (after dinner we will sit out there long after the sun goes down soaking up every minute of summer we can). Sadly, it was pretty grey, chilly  and cloudy and we were not able to hang outside, but soon!

So here you go…The first of hopefully many rib recipes:

INGREDIENTS:

2 racks of ribs

1/4 cup ground cumin

1/4 cup chili powder

1/4 paprika

2 tbsp garlic powder

2 tbsp brown sugar

salt & pepper to taste

1-2 cups of your favorite BBQ sauce (depending on how saucy you like’em)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat a gas grill for  250 -300° heat, or arrange charcoal briquettes on one side of the barbeque.
  2. UGH!!!  Trim the membrane from the back of each rack. Run a small, sharp knife between the membrane and each rib, and snip off the membrane as much as possible…I am TOTALLY UNABLE TO DO THIS… Its so gnarly yuck. yuck. yuck.
  3. Combine cumin, chili powder, paprika, salt, and pepper. in small bowl or jar.
  4. Sprinkle as much of the rub onto both sides of the ribs as desired. **Do not thoroughly rub the spices into the ribs.
  5. Store the unused portion of the spice mix for future use.
  6. Place aluminum foil on lower rack. Lay the ribs on the top rack of the grill (away from the coals, if you’re using briquettes). close lid, and leave undisturbed for 2 1/2 hours.
  7. Brush ribs with your favorite barbecue sauce, and grill an additional 5 minutes.
  8. Serve ribs as whole rack, or cut between each rib bone and pile individually

IMG_0228

IMG_0244

IMG_0257

IMG_0274

IMG_0313

IMG_0314

IMG_0326

IMG_0327

IMG_0345

IMG_0349

IMG_0415IMG_0406

IMG_0454

IMG_0500

IMG_0398

Thanks for sharing your rib secrets babe!! I love you XOXOX

waffle post

12 comments

  1. Johnny

    Removing the membrane is no treat, even for the most advanced chefs. Your blog is fantastic, Keep up the good work

  2. Tanya Bartolini

    This recipe for ribs looks amazing. I am going to have to try them. When I do try them is it ok with you if I blog about it on my page and reference your page and recipe?

Leave a Reply

