freekah

Toasted_Green_Wheat

This week was terrible. It’s supposed to be beautiful and spring like, it’s not. I had an awful flu (that even after4 days it hasn’t gone away). Thursday I did manage to peel myself off the couch to head to my class (the first one of my Fashion Marketing & Merchandising course).  Thankfully, Chris offered to give me a ride when he got home from work.  I don’t know if it was me feeling terrible and delirious from cold/flu medication or my teacher is actually, totally crazy. I love my fashion program but, this class worries me. I’m horrible at tests (AWFUL!) but can usually make up the marks in assignments and in-class stuff. This class I have 1 assignment (homework) that was handed out the first day and is due the last day and the rest of the class is lectures and tests! 60% of my mark is based off stupid tests!! *sigh The assignment is 4 excel spread sheets that I need to fill in with contact info (15 contacts per page). Page 1: Primary (raw materials ie textiles), Page 2: Secondary (manufacturing ie garment), Page 3:Retail (final distribution ie stores), and Page 4: Auxiliary (fashion related ie publications)….what’s that, like 60 contacts? UGH!  She wants all chapters completed BEFORE class every Thursday and theeeen it’s discussed during lecture. She’ll post upcoming show’s, and events for the week if you’d like to attend (these events will be discussed in class,” it’s in your best interest to try and make it to a few of them”). She will not accept any excuses for missing class. Suggested that we brush up on “Fashion Terminology”  as she will only give an explination of a term once if you fail to understand. REALLY?!?!? This is a fashion program, relax! I think the stress made my illness worse. Now, 2 days later I still feel terrible.
I did however have a post saved from last week so I do have a recipe to post…and it’s AWFUL lololol YUP! I told you this week sucked. I was saving it hoping to make something better to post….but, it didn’t happen. PS I also HATE  the photo’s I took of the freekah salad. Sorry.

IMG_0158

IMG_0168

IMG_0198

Let me just start by saying…… FREEKAH IS FREAKING GROSS.  If you haven’t tried it or heard about it  : ‘Freekeh is made from young wheat (typically durum) that is harvested while still green and put through a roasting and rubbing process during production. It has a smoky, nutty flavor and a firm, chewy texture similar to bulgur. It’s versatile and easy to work with in the kitchen. Can be used/substituted in any recipe that calls for quinoa, couscous etc.
Now freekeh (pronounced “free-kah”) is gaining popularity in American kitchens, particularly for its nutritional punch. Compared to other grains, It is higher in protein, fiber, vitamins, minerals and lower in glycemic index,’ says Vandana R. Sheth, RD, CDE, Spokesperson for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.”

I made Freekah the same way I would make a quinoa or couscous salad. I added left over roasted sweet potato, roasted up some asparagus with a little oil and garlic, added some edamame , kale, red pepper and some goat cheese. It would have been delicious had I used anything other then freekah. lol

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup freekah – cooked
  • 1 cup diced sweet potato roasted – cool
  • 1 cup chopped kale – raw
  • 1/2 cup roasted chopped asparagus – cooled
  • 1/2 cup edamame – steamed, shelled and cooled
  • goat cheese to sprinkle on top

IMG_2429

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place 2 cups cold water (or broth), 1 cup Freekeh, and 1 tsp. salt in a large saucepan.
  2. Bring to boil, stirring occasionally.
  3. Cover the saucepan with a tightly fitting lid.
  4. Lower heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes if cooking cracked grain.
  5. Ensure all water (or broth) is absorbed and grains are tender before serving.
  6. Add in vegetables cool and serve with some goat cheese!

IMG_2463

Sitting on our back deck waiting for spring….

IMG_0206

IMG_0213

4 comments

Leave a Reply

