kale chips

IMG_0069

Effin’ kale chips. I really wanted to make good ones, everyone else seems to be able to make them taste so good (and by “so good” I mean ‘these will never ever be as good as potato chips,  but I will eat them anyway’). I have tried a few times, these were probably the best so far (Chris doesn’t even try them anymore). I spiced them up and didn’t burn too many and they were all crispy…So I will consider this a success. I also tossed them on a cutting board when they were done instead of in a bowl which helped keep them from becoming a pile of crumbs. So far what I’ve figured out when making kale chips is NEVER under any circumstance EVER believe the cooking time any recipe says. Check them every couple minutes (it’s a total drag, but you have to).  As soon as some of them are done take them off the sheet and put the rest back in. For a few handfuls of kale chips I baked 3 batches. You need to give them room on the pan, they do shrink up, but that doesn’t mean you can pile it all on to the baking sheet (once they layer you’re screwed and they won’t crisp up). The last tip…LIGHTLY oil them, don’t pour it on and soak the kale, drizzle lightly and a good toss will do. I wish I could make them as good as everyone else does. They never taste as good as if someone else made them *sigh.

IMG_9969

INGREDIENTS:

  • Kale
  • Olive oil
  • Pinch of garlic powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • Pinch of cumin
  • Pinch of cayenne

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C).

Rinse of the kale and dry it well

Rip of big chip size pieces (remember they shrink up)

Toss in bowl with a drizzle of olive oil and lightly sprinkle spices, give them a really good toss you want a little oil and spice on all the leaves

Spread evenly on a lined baking sheet

Bake for approx 10min.** checking on them often**

I piled them on a cutting board with a little jar of pecans (which I snacked on more then the chips). You can spice the chips up more if you’d like or  not at all. I have to say, I’m not the biggest kale chip fan…well, not my kale chips.

IMG_0031

3 comments

  1. marina

    They sound and look fantastic! Ps I always find when someone else makes the same thing as me it always tastes better then my own. You are improving so much in the kitchen. You should be really proud! ;)

  2. Elaine Huba

    I adore kale chips! I found the key is to ensure the leaves are dried well after washing (as you mentioned) so they get nice and crispy. I’ve never seasoned mine before so am excited to try the spices:)

Leave a Reply

