crepe manicotti

IMG_8344

Ok…So since I started this whole blog thing I have followed, Facebook ‘liked’ and bookmarked every wonderful food blogger, beautiful blog with recipes and food photography blog on the planet (well all the good ones, in my opinion), from http://www.ibbyandpop.com/blog/ to http://smittenkitchen.com/ . Now recipes and dinner photo’s pop up everywhere. As soon as turn on my computer or check my phone. I’m drooling most of the day with my belly rumbling, starving to try whatever they had for dinner.

This is how I came across this recipe for crepe manicotti. Naturally Ella of the yummy site  http://naturallyella.com/   has managed to come up with or make vegetarian recipes my (VERY non-vegetarian) boyfriend will eat. The ones we’ve tried  don’t necessarily fall into the “healthy category” but, I figured we should start slow.  Maybe by next year Chris will be popping Kale chips and asking for seconds of eggplant and brussels sprouts. Don’t get me wrong, I am far from where I want to be when it comes to food. I will never pick the “healthier” option on the menu and I can be persuaded to eat ribs, burgers and/or fries with mere suggestion. So between the two of us it’s hard to stay in a healthy eating routine. We no longer say “diet” cause we can both find over a million reasons to “start” tomorrow or Monday. Now just make a very, VERY conscious effort to fill our fridge and cupboard with fresh, organic bright colorful food in hopes that it will eventually turn into habit.

Sorry, back to the recipe. So this one popped up and I really, really wanted to try it.

IMG_8290
INGREDIENTS:
The original  has an awesome recipe for crepe’s. We actually had some in our freezer which we found on our last shopping trip to Fiesta Farms (http://fiestafarms.ca/).
  • Filling:
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • minced garlic
  • ¼ cup mozzarella cheese
  • 2 tablespoon egg whites

divide everything else:

  • 2 cup marinara (we used l’Ortolano Artichoke Tomato Sauce)
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese
  • ¼ cup Parmesan

IMG_8252

IMG_8273
INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Spray a 9×9 pan, spread ½ cup of marinara in the bottom of the pan, and preheat oven to 350.
  2.  Combine filing ingredients in a bowl. Scoop a scant fourth of a cup of filling into the front of crepe and roll. Repeat with remaining filling.
  3. Once filled crepes are in the pan, spread the rest of the marinara over the crepes- makings sure each crepe is covered. Sprinkle with cheese and bake for 30-35 minutes until cheese on top is slightly browned and manicotti are bubbling.

 *The instructions are directly from Naturally Ella omitting the crepe directionsIMG_8301

IMG_8306

IMG_8318

The only problem with what we did (which was entirely my fault not the recipe) I didn’t use the  amount of tomato sauce that’s in the recipe. I wish I had followed the recipe more accurately . I completely and totally regret it, If I had I would have LOVED! this recipe.

PS I was a link maniac this post!

Leave a Reply

