vegetarian curry

Image

I haven’t posted in a while… Finally after a crazy trip to NYC, Christmas tree decorating, shopping and holiday parties I actually got my shh…stuff together to look through recipes and post a new fun dinner.

I hate being cold…I hate winter and snow and skating and snowboarding…anything cold (well except drunk tobogganing..I don’t mind that). Yesterday while I should have been concentrating on work, I was daydreaming of hot beautiful places I wanted to go. I spent a couple years around Costa Rica and miss the warm sun, beautiful beaches and palm trees. That was probably the only time I ever pleasantly woke up early morning smiling and rushing to get ready and run out the door.  Early morning surfing, afternoon naps on the beach and dancing all night (when working… it was working and dancing all night).  As I searched warm tropical places I’d like to go Thailand …India… I was also getting hungry and my search turned to food. I started looking for some warm comfort food.

IMG_1415

I found lots of recipes for vegetarian curries….chana masala, cauliflower curry, potato etc. I finally settled on a few I thought sounded (easy) awesome. I found one from Martha Stewart and a couple more on Tastspotting and headed to the market (in the freezing freakin’ cold) to grab my ingredients. When I got there I noticed  I wasn’t able to find a few things….mainly garam masala (which was in all the recipes but one) and a certain green chili. I asked the owner (I always ask them stupid food questions. Him and his wife are so sweet! I should really get their names.. ). He usually does have them …but not when I needed them. He asked me a couple questions about my heat tolerance and looked at the recipes. He suggested some little red Thai Chili’s and gave me 5 (he didn’t even charge me for them!). I headed home to cook my curry!

ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2  onion chopped
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 5 teaspoons curry powder
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 medium cauliflower (florets)
  • 1 medium potato (recipe said 1/2…but what do you do with the other 1/2 potato??)
  • 1 can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), drained
  • 1 can  diced tomatoes
  • 1  can  coconut milk
  • 2 Thai chili’s (seeded and chopped SUPER TINY!)

IMG_1337

IMG_1358

directions:

Heat oil in large skillet . Add onions and sauté until golden brown (about 8 minutes).
Add curry powder and stir 20 seconds.
Add cauliflower, diced potato and garbanzo beans; stir 1 minute.
Add diced tomatoes and chiles, then coconut milk; bring to boil.
Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and boil gently until cauliflower breaks down a bit and liquid thickens slightly, stirring occasionally.
*The longer you let it stew the better!
Season to taste with salt and pepper., heat up some naan and serve over rice!

 It’s not CRAZY exciting (even with those spices, I’m not kidding….not bland, but not fun either)…and not terribly spicy.  However, we ate a few generous helpings each. Today when I got home (even grumpier and colder then yesterday) I snacked on some and it tasted even better today. If you’ve never had curry it would be a GREAT first try (if that makes sense…a good curry training dish lol).
IMG_1432
IMG_1451
Ok…well post, posted! Now back to daydreaming of sunshine and beaches xo
maria-surfing-copy-225x144
2 comments

Leave a Reply

