dad’s yorkshire pudding

Image

From as far back as I can remember I would sit and watch my dad make dinner. (To this day I still LOVE watching people cook) And even as an adult when I would go over  to my parents for dinner I would still hover in the kitchen while he cooks.

Because of his job he would make dinner every third week and on the weekends. Sometimes we’d go days without seeing each other. Those times however we’d draw pictures and leave them for one another for when we’d get home, or woke up. Once he even got us a HUGE roll of paper and we added to the same picture creating a confusing jumble of doodles…faces, leaves, trees, birds.  Just like a lot of families we had a dinner routine and every second weekend we’d have roast beef, double baked potatoes, yorkshire pudding (it always looked so complicated) and lots and lots of gravy.  My dad is an excellent cook and it was always fun to sit in our white and red (it was the 80’s) kitchen up on the bar stool yammering on about whatever nonsense a little girl chats about, watching him without a recipe put together everything. Always perfectly timed and never burnt (that’s how I remember it anyway). Certain things he made seemed incredible, almost magical back then. I remember him making my mom Crêpe Suzette. At the time I didn’t know what it was but, I was floored!  To this day I remember the gitty excitement when he lit it.  Another time I was the cinnamon and sugar shaker when he made doughnuts (My most favorite cooks helper job as a kid). You’d think after years of watching him cook I’d be better than I am…. Now looking back, I don’t think I was actually paying attention to the food. It was him I was watching.

Ö

It feels like forever since the last time I saw my dad cook. A couple of days ago I asked him to show me how to make Yorkshire Pudding (and it just so happens it would have been the second Sunday).

Ö

ingredients:

  • 2 eggs (room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup milk (room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 tablespoons of drippings (from gravy)
  • 6 tablespoons oil

IMG_1121

IMG_1122

IMG_1125

directions:

  • Preheat oven to 300°F.
  • Fill each muffin tin with 1 tablespoon of oil and put in the oven till HOT (approx 15min)
  • Combine all ingredients (make sure drippings are not HOT)
  • DO NOT OVER MIX! – Lumps are good!
  • Bake 45min
  • Pour the batter into hot oil muffin tins (it’s important to put the muffin tin on a baking sheet or roasting pan as it will get MESSY while baking in the oven
  • Bake 45min

*NOTE: Once they are baking… DO NOT OPEN OVEN DOOR! DO NOT BANG STOVE! KEEP ALL KITCHEN ACTIVITY QUIET!

IMG_1280

They turned out PERFECT (not surprised)!

8 comments

  1. T.D.

    Beautiful post. I recently lost my mother and this post is so touching and beautiful. I would watch her cook every evening as a child. It’s incredible what and how we remember moments.

    • Blush

      Thank you! I’ve received a bunch of really great and encouraging comments. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post.
      I’m so truly sorry to hear about your loss.

      Thank you again for your kind comment, I appreciate it very much.

  2. Dro

    I remember those yorkshire puddings and roastbeef dinners as I know I was at a few…as well as the tasty roast beef sammies we would get the week after!!! I am going to try out this recipe for sure!!! Xo

  3. SHARON DELROY

    I think this is the first time I have ever cried reading a food blog. Beautiful post. Dad’s are amazing.

  4. league of angels vip hack

    I really love your website.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m
    attempting to create my own blog and want to find out where you got this from or what
    the theme is named. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

